tree-icon News Room

AFFON holds its First National Congress

First National Congress of AFFON was held on 6th of January 2016 at Presidential College, Thapagaun, Kathmandu that had a marked presence of over 100 participants and more than 50 were coming from the districts including family forest owners, forest experts as well as entrepreneurs.

Honorable Finance State Minister inaugurating the event

Honorable Finance state Minister, Damodhar Bhandari, Ministry of Finance- chief guest, inaugurated the event by watering a vessel as a symbol to conserve the farm forest so as to be able to use for commercial purpose. During his speech, Minister claimed that the conclusion of the event will be of much importance to the government as well.

Following the speech of the Hon. Minister Presentations were made by Dr. Bharat Pokhrel (HELVETAS), Dr. Yam Malla (IUCN), Dr. Sindu Dhungana (Department of Forest) and Mr. Ghana Shyam Pandey (Green Foundation Nepal) under the theme Issues Challenges and Prosperity from Family Forestry: Path towards the future with the aim to enlighten the farmers on the status of the family forest as well as possibilities from the forest they own.

Similarly other guest speakers  included Dr. Jyoti Baniya , (Chairman Consumer Rights ProtectionForum), Mr. Ganesh Karki(Chairman,  FederationCommunity Forest Users Group),  Mr. Keshav Khanal ( WWF Nepal),  Mr. Bhola Khatiwada ( Chairman, COFSUN ) Mr. Narayan Gawali, Mr. Min Shahi (ED KIRDARC Nepal), Mr. Parbat Gurung(Parliamentarian), Ms. Bharati Pathak(General Secretary Federation of Community Forest Users Group).

Photo: Newly elected members of National Working Committee

The Congress also elected 18 members National Working Committee  with Mr. Jog Giri-Chairman , Ms. Indira Ghimire- Vice Chair, Mr.Pitambar Sigdel-General Secretary, Mr. Govinda Bahadur Shahi- Secretary, Ms. Sujata karki- Joint Secretary and Mr.Kul Prasad Chapagain-Treasurer to AFFON. Similarly, Ms. Banmaya Praja, Mr. Gagan Bahadur Singh, Mr. Ram Chandra Thakur, Mr. Buddhi Uprety, Mr. Laxman Pathak, Ms. Ganesh Kumari Hamal, Mr. Rajendra Bhatta, Ms. Aarati Pathak, Mr. Dilli Upadhyaya, Mr. Meghraj Bhusal and Mr. Mukti Nath Timalsena were elected as members of the National Working Committee.

Photo:happy faces of the National working committee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *